1. Home
  2. Presentation
  3. Organization

Organization of Résif-Epos research infrastructure


Steering Committee

Résif is a consortium of 18 partners. Each member of the consortium is represented on the Consortium Steering Committee which is chaired by one of its members appointed for a period of two years. This Committee steers the governance of Résif’s actions, financial and human resources. It examines and approves the recommendations of those responsible for specific and transversal actions. It meets at least once a year, in the presence of representatives of the 3 supervisory bodies.

Scientific Council

The Résif Consortium relies on the advice of a Scientific Council made up of independent French and foreign experts, appointed by the Steering Committee. It makes recommendations to the steering committee.


The Director is responsible for the day-to-day running of Résif and supervises the implementation of decisions and the use of the consortium’s resources. The director is appointed for 4 years (renewable once) by the steering committee.

Board of Directors

Résif’s executive consists of a director and a board of directors .

It is made up of the the Chairperson of the Steering commitee, the Director and three members appointed by the Steering Commitee for a period of two years which can be renewed for one year. The board of directors assists and advises the Director in his tasks. Various experts and the leaders of specific and transversal projects are invited to participate in the board’s work .

Supervisory authorities

Ministry of Ecological Transition – MTE
Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation – MESRI

Résif Consortium

Résif is constructed as a consortium of organizations and academic institutions based on Observatories of Earth Sciences and Astronomy (OSU, in French) throughout French territory. The OSUs are important actors in the network, working in strong interaction with universities and local authorities.

The Résif Consortium is the de facto coordinator of Epos-France.

The CNRS (INSU) is the coordinator of the entire project within the consortium which is currently made up of 18 partners.

Specific and transversal actions

Résif is organised into seven specific actions corresponding to the different permanent and mobile instrumental networks deployed in the territory. Specific actions bring together Résif instruments, scientists and partners around targeted research themes. It also includes three transversal actions that cover several specific initiatives or issues which are common to all themes.

Learn more

Specific and transversal actions

Schéma d'organisation de l'infrastructure de recherche Résif-Epos, avril 2023

Organization of the national research infrastructure Résif (French Seismological and Geodetic Network). © Résif 2023

Members of the RESIF-EPOS consortium

  • Centre national de recherche scientifique – CNRS-INSU – Coordinator
  • Bureau de recherches géologiques et minières -BRGM
  • Centre national d’études spatiales – CNES
  • Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives – CEA
  • Institut français de recherche pour l’exploitation de la mer – IFREMER
  • Institut français des sciences et technologies des transports, de l’aménagement et des réseaux – IFSTTAR
  • Institut national de l’information géographique et forestière – IGN
  • Institut de physique du globe de Paris – IPGP
  • Institut de recherche pour le développement – IRD
  • Institut de radioprotection et de sûreté nucléaire – IRSN
  • Observatoire de la Côte d’Azur
  • Université Clermont Auvergne
  • Université Grenoble Alpes
  • Université de Montpellier
  • Université de Strasbourg
  • Université de Nantes
  • Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis
  • Université Toulouse III, Paul Sabatier

Observatories of Earth Sciences and Astronomy involved in Résif

Understanding the inner workings of the Planet is a fundamental objective of Earth Science research. This research requires long-term documentation of the formation, evolution, variability and activity of the Earth’s environments to help knowledge advance in these areas. For this, the CNRS has set up National Observation Services (SNO, in French) grouped thematically into National Observation Actions (ANO, in French). The SNOs are implemented by Observatories of Earth Sciences and Astronomy (OSU, in French) and the laboratories attached to them along with other French research establishments.

The list on the right gives the Observatories of the Sciences of the Universe that contribute to the Résif research infrastructure’s specific actions, through the National Observation Services and the CNRS-Insu instrument sites.


Detailed listing (pdf)

Read more

Consult the OSU and SNO database of CNRS Insu

Observatories of Earth Sciences and Astronomy involved in Résif

  • Ecce Terra
  • Ecole et observatoire des sciences de la Terre – Eost
  • Institut de physique du globe de Paris – IPGP
  • Institut universitaire européen de la mer – IUEM
  • Observatoire Aquitain des Sciences de l’Univers – Oasu
  • Observatoire de la Côte d’Azur – Oca
  • Observatoire de Paris
  • Observatoire de physique du globe de Clermont-Ferrand – OPGC
  • Observatoire de recherche méditerranéen de l’environnement – Oreme
  • Observatoire des Sciences de l’Univers de Grenoble – Osug
  • Observatoire des Sciences de l’Univers de Nantes Atlantique – Osuna
  • Observatoire des Sciences de l’Univers de Rennes – Osur
  • Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées – OMP
  • Theta

Detailled listing (pdf)