About Résif

The French seismological and geodetic network Résif-Epos is a national facility cited in the national roadmap of research infrastructures published by the Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation. Résif-Epos was launched in 2009 in an effort to develop, modernize, and centralize geophysical observation of the Earth’s interior. 

This national research infrastructure is integrated into the European Epos infrastructure and actively involved in the continuing implementation and development of Epos. Moreover, components of Résif-Epos participate in centralized international networks and federations.

Read more

French Roadmap of Research Infrastructures (French)

240 seconds to discover Résif

A unique range of instruments deployed throughout the country

Résif-Epos uses both permanent and mobile instrument networks for continuous seismological, geodetic and gravimetric measurements. The collected data reveal both the structure and dynamics of our planet. These data also contribute to the sustainable management of natural resources and to natural geohazard mitigation.

In seismology, Résif-Epos develops a permanent densely implanted network of nearly 200 broadband seismic sensors throughout mainland France. It is complemented by a permanent network of accelerometers used to study strong and localized movements of the Earth in the most seismically active areas in France and abroad.

These networks enable researchers to understand the Earth’s interior better – from the crust to the core – and to develop imaging of this. As basic tools for real-time monitoring of seismic activity, these networks also help to estimate seismic hazards including the likelihood of shaking exceeding a certain threshold at a given location and over a given time period.

Résif-Epos also includes a permanent network of geodetic stations. These stations are used to measure ground displacement rates of a few tenths of millimetres per year and monitor crustal deformation and the processes that create landforms and generate seismicity, particularly in fault zones.

Résif-Epos also uses gravimeters that measure slight variations in the Earth’s gravitational field to study the mass distribution and dynamics inside the Earth.

In addition to these permanent networks, Résif-Epos coordinates the deployment of mobile instruments on various sites to temporarily increase measurement density in France or in areas of high scientific interest in Europe and elsewhere in the world. Such temporary networks are open to the entire academic scientific community and offer a large range of state of the art technologies and some truly exceptional equipment such as the Absolute Quantum Gravimeter.

Read more

Interactive map
Instrumentation

Carte des réseaux instrumentaux Résif

European Plate Observing System

Résif-Epos is France’s major contribution to the European Plate Observing System (EPOS) and has actively participated in its creation and ongoing evolution.

EPOS, the European Plate Observing System, is a research infrastructure which manages data integration in Earth Sciences, based on pre-existing services in Europe. The aim of EPOS is to enable the development of innovative multidisciplinary research to attain a better understanding of the physical and chemical processes of the solid Earth.
EPOS-France has deliberately committed to working in a context of open access to research data. A large part of its web site provides access to the data and services offered by EPOS, and by French actors in the field. The web site and data are mainly intended for research professionals but are also open to the general public. Currently, the site only exists in French but an English version will be launched later this year.

Résif leads French contributions to Thematic Core Services (TCS) Seismology and GNSS Data and Products and also disseminates data from the domains of TCS Volcano Observations and TCS Near-Fault Observatories.

Contact

Helle Pedersen (helle.pedersen [at] univ-grenoble-alpes.fr)

Read more

Epos-France web site : www.epos-france.fr
Epos web site :  www.epos-eu.org

European plate observing system - Epos

 

A high-performance information system

This efficient information system manages the ten terabytes of data collected annually. Raw data are analyzed, validated and then centralized for real time archiving and free distribution in accordance with open science policy. Every year, tens of millions of data requests are submitted to Résif by scientists from all over the world.

Read more

Information system

Organization

The CNRS National Institute for Earth Sciences and Astronomy coordinates the Résif-Epos consortium which includes the majority of French universities and organizations involved in geoscience research. More than a hundred researchers, engineers and technicians work together on a daily basis thus making Résif-Epos a tremendous scientific tool available to the global Earth Sciences community.

Read more

Organization
Teams

A propos de Résif

Le réseau sismologique et géodésique français Résif-Epos est un équipement national, inscrit sur la feuille de route nationale des infrastructures de Recherche éditée par le ministère de l’enseignement supérieur, de la  recherche et de l’innovation. La construction de Résif -Epos a été lancée en 2009 pour fédérer, moderniser et développer les moyens d’observation géophysique de la Terre interne.

Cette infrastructure de recherche nationale est aujourd’hui intégrée à l’infrastructure européenne Epos et participe activement à sa réalisation et à son évolution. Par ailleurs, certaines composantes de Résif-Epos font partie de structures fédératives à l’échelle mondiale.

En savoir plus

Feuille de route nationale des infrastructures de recherche

240 secondes pour découvrir Résif

Un parc instrumental unique déployé sur l’ensemble du territoire

Résif-Epos se base à la fois sur des réseaux permanents et sur des parcs d’instruments mobiles pour effectuer des mesures sismologiques, géodésiques et gravimétriques continues. Les données recueillies révèlent la structure et les déformations de notre planète. Elles contribuent également à la gestion durable des ressources naturelles et à la maîtrise des risques naturels d’origine tellurique.

En sismologie, Résif-Epos développe un réseau permanent et dense de près de 200 capteurs à large bande passante sur l’ensemble du territoire métropolitain. Pour le compléter, le réseau accélérométrique permanent dispose de capteurs plutôt dédiés à l’étude des mouvements forts et localisés dans les zones les plus sismiques en métropole et Outre-Mer.

Ces réseaux permettent aux chercheurs de mieux connaître et d’imager l’intérieur de la Terre depuis la croûte jusqu’au noyau terrestre. Outils de base pour le suivi en temps réel de l’activité sismique, ils aident également à estimer l’aléa sismique, c’est-à-dire la probabilité qu’une secousse dépasse un certain seuil en un lieu et sur une durée donnés.

Résif-Epos intègre également un réseau permanent de stations géodésiques. Capables de mesurer des vitesses de déplacement du sol de l’ordre de quelques dixièmes de millimètres par an, elles permettent de suivre les déformations de l’écorce terrestre et les processus à l’origine des reliefs et de la sismicité, notamment au niveau des failles.

Résif-Epos dispose par ailleurs de gravimètres qui mesurent les variations infimes du champ de pesanteur et permettent d’étudier la répartition et la dynamique des masses à l’intérieur de la Terre.

En complément de ces réseaux permanents, Résif-Epos coordonne différents parcs d’instruments mobiles qui permettent de densifier temporairement les mesures en France ou dans des zones à fort intérêt scientifique en Europe ou dans le Monde. Ouverts à toute la communauté scientifique académique, ils proposent des équipements variés, modernes et parfois exceptionnels, comme un gravimètre absolu basé sur la chute d’atomes froids.

En savoir plus

Carte interactive des réseaux
Instrumentation

Carte des réseaux instrumentaux Résif - Avril 2020

European Plate Observing System

Résif-Epos est la contribution majeure de la France à l’European Plate Observing System (EPOS) et participe activement à sa réalisation et à son évolution.

EPOS, European Plate Observing System, est une infrastructure de recherche en charge de l’intégration de données en Sciences de la Terre, à partir de services préexistants en Europe. La finalité d’EPOS est de permettre le développement d’une recherche multidisciplinaire novatrice pour une meilleure compréhension des processus physiques et chimiques de la Terre solide.
EPOS-France se place délibérément dans un contexte d’ouverture des données de la recherche. Une large partie du site web en construction est dédiée à l’accès aux données et services offerts par EPOS, et par les acteurs français du domaine. Le site et les données sont principalement destinés aux acteurs de la recherche, mais sont également ouverts au grand public.

Résif est porteur des contributions françaises aux TCS Seismology et TCS GNSS Data and Products et distribue également des données des domaines des TCS Volcano Observations et TCS Near-Fault Observatories.

Contact

Helle Pedersen (helle.pedersen@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr)

En savoir plus

Site web Epos-France  : www.epos-france.fr
Site web Epos :  www.epos-eu.org

European plate observing system - Epos (logo)

Un système d’information performant

Un système d’information performant gère la dizaine de téraoctets de données collectée annuellement. Les données brutes sont analysées, validées puis centralisées afin d’être sauvegardées et mises à disposition en temps réel et gratuitement, suivant une politique de science ouverte. Chaque année, des dizaines de millions de requêtes sont effectuées sur les serveurs par des scientifiques du monde entier.

En savoir plus

Système d’information Résif

Organisation

L’Institut National des Sciences de l’Univers du CNRS coordonne le consortium Résif-Epos, composé de la majorité des universités et organismes français concernés par la recherche en Géosciences. Plus d’une centaine de chercheurs, ingénieurs et techniciens collaborent au quotidien pour faire de Résif-Epos un formidable outil scientifique au service de la communauté mondiale des sciences de la Terre.

En savoir plus

Organisation Résif
Equipes